Daily Archives: August 28, 2010

Roasted Potato Pizza…

… on homemade focaccia crust with homemade sweet tomato basil sauce… mmmm…

Hey everybody! :)

I don’t know if you’ve noticed, but the summer seems to be coming to a close – and I’m okay with that. I know, I know, hiss away – but I’m more of an Autumn, if you will.

Maybe it’s cause I’m born in November. Maybe it’s because I have a natural inclination towards a more melancholy disposition. (No, seriously, I do sometimes. I used to love Edgar Allen Poe and Stephen King and Ann Rice novels as I was growing up… and with Edgar Allen Poe.. I didn’t even really READ it, I just liked the idea, I think… lol mind you, I also watched copious amounts of Monty Python movies and the Simpsons, so maybe that balances everything out…”balance” might be a strong word.) Maybe it’s a better time to write and create without the distraction of the glorious sun and the promise of much swimming. Maybe it’s because I really like wearing a lot of clothes. orrrr…

…MAYBE it’s because doing CRAZY amounts of cooking and baking is no longer looked upon as strange or too hot to do so!!!! YAYYYYYYY!!!!

There seems to be something going on now called the slow food revolution – making everything from scratch – taking time and really creating your food rather than going for what is quick and convenient. I love it. I love knowing that each piece of what I am eating was made by me. I also love knowing that if, given the encroaching zombie apocalypse, I should not be able to shop for these things, I will be able to survive in my own house without having to fight zombies in a grocery store. (Which, lets just agree, they love to hang out in.)

So, that brings me to this recipe – or, collection of recipes, as it were. All three parts of this recipe are from my FAVOURITE cookbook IN THE WORLD – ReBar – and it is vegetarian friendly – AND super filling. One piece and you’re done for. (Two pieces, like i had, and you’re beyond done for – the zombies will get you.)

Anywho, here’s the recipe for the pizza itself (as 3 recipes in one blog would be crazy!) If you’re interested in the ReBar cookbook (which I HIGHLY recommend – especially for vegetarians – i’ve actually owned it twice now – and the copy I have now is signed – I’m kind of a superfan, can you tell?)

_________________________

Roasted Potato Pizza – from ReBar

(the directions and things are pretty much exactly from the book with a couple wee changes)

Ingredients –

  • 1/2 recipe focaccia, or your favourite pizza crust (i actually used the whole thing – hehe)
  • 1 x recipe tomato sweet basil sauce (in the book it calls for a recipe for sundried tomato pesto – but i used another suggestion of theirs!)(whatever tomato sauce you like!)
  • 1lb red potatoes
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 tbsp minced rosemary
  • juice 1/2 lemon
  • 1 1/2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp cracked pepper
  • 1/2 bunch spinach, stemmed and washed
  • 2 x 6 oz jars marinated artichoke hearts
  • 2 cups crumbled feta
  • 2 cups grated mozza

Directions –

Make your pizza dough, which ever recipe you choose to use. (I highly recommend focaccia! It’s super thick and fluffy and just yum) Preheat oven to 375F. Quarter the potatoes lengthwise and slice 1/4″ thick. Toss with garlic, rosemary, lemon, olive oil, salt and pepper. Spread on a baking sheet and roast 20 – 30 minutes, until golden brown and tender. Cool and set aside. Slice spinach leaves in to 1/2” thick ribbons. Drain artichoke hearts and cut in half length-wise. Crumble and grate the cheese. (basically, prepare your topping!! i also added mushrooms and capers – and you can also add olives if you like!)(also, now would be a good time to make your pizza sauce – as the dough is rising)

Turn the oven heat up to 450F. Punch dough down and roll it out slightly on a floured board. Let the dough rest for several minutes, then transfer to an oiled 15″ pizza pan. Stretch the dough out to fit the pan, raising the edges slightly. If the dough bounces back, cover with a kitchen towel and let the dough rest until it gives.

To dress the pizza, (hehehe, i pictured the pizza wearing a dress) spread the bottom of the crust with sauce and sprinkle 1 cup of the mozza. Layer with spinach, potatoes, artichokes and olives, and whatever else. Sprinkle feta over top, and follow with the final cup of mozzarella. Turn down oven temp to 374F and bake the pizza on bottom rack for 20 minutes, or until the cheese is melted and the crust is golden.

Prepare to be very, very full. (In turn, making you look very delicious to zombies.)

:)

Many thanks to ReBar!!!

cheers,

Allison :)

xoxoxox

ps. in case I wasn’t doing enough shameless promotion of rebar already, CLICK HERE TO SEE THEIR WEBSITE AND COOKBOOK!!! hehehe ;) xoxoxoxo

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized