Midnight Mac ‘n Cheese

Hey everyone!

Here’s a little romance for ya. I was in a cab on the way to Toronto Airport one morning, and I had a conversation with the driver, a lovely older man from Greece, and it came up that I am a musician. He told me that in Greece, food, love, and music are everything, to which I say, in my best Liz Lemon voice “I want to go to there.”

That’s completely how I see life, too, and I LOVE cooking for people that I love. When my boyfriend and I started dating, I remember one of the first things I made him was chicken curry. It blew his mind. That led to me making dish after dish after dish because I was just SO excited that someone loved my cooking that much that well, it kind of became a thing. The whole heart through the stomach dealy.

Now, when I get back from tour, he generally prepares me some sort of delicious foods, as well. It’s awesome – and totally reciprocate, and SO awesome to come home to. :) (I once came back from the craziest tour EVER to a homemade lasagna. Hell yes.)

So, this time again, I am leaving, and I am getting ready to travel across the country early saturday night (which is, really, late Friday night – I drive to catch a shuttle to the airport at 4:20 am – gross) and he had mentioned that he was thinking of something cheesy and pasta-y and well I am pretty sure he’s going to miss me a lot and I’m going to miss him too and well how do I show these emotions best? By cooking homemade foods ridiculously late at night on a whim! Hooray! (…okay, honestly, I do that even when I’m NOT leaving for 3 weeks. The fact is, I just love to cook.)

In fact, just today he said he never thought he’d be one of those guys that goes crazy for his partners meals but, well, here he is, going crazy, and I made enough to freeze and eat while I’m gone. I also never thought I’d be the person that makes meals for people to freezzeeEEE OKAY I TOTALLY KNEW I WOULD BE OKAY WHATEVER I’M DOMESTIC DON’T JUDGE ME. I MEAN FOR PETES SAKE I MAKE MY DOG CAKE!!!  CAKE!!!??!?! Cake.

Where was I? Right.

It’s going to be pretty darned busy once this tour gets going, so there is going to be less time for me to cook, too, and to be truthful, I am also going to miss my kitchen an awful lot, so really, this dish is win/win.

I’ve been making this “recipe” for a while, and really, it generally amounts to being a sort of roux that you then add cheese to and spice however you like, then add that to pasta, then top it with stuff, then bake it – end scene.

It’s delicious, it’s comfort food, you want to eat it, freeze it, and save it for a rainy day – or else eat it like a zombie at a Nobel Prize brain buffet. Your choice. (do you think smarter brains taste better to zombies? or worse? would they get tough with overuse?!)

Anywho, enjoy – and farewell for now Newfoundland, I am off to my other home of BC for now. See you when I get back :)

_________________________

Midnight Mac n Cheese

Ingredients –

  • Macaroni (however much you want or need, prepared according to instructions – i used a whole box – remember to salt the water liberally!)
  • Cheese (duh) (I used like a trillion cups of it – say like 1.5 or 2 for a big batch – keep some aside to put on the top for baking)
  • Butter – I used about 4 tablespoons in my roux this time… and by 4 I mean 6.
  • Onion, 1 small white, chopped
  • Flour- 3 – 4 tablespoons, whatever looks right
  • Spices (i used about 1 tsp of chili powder and 1 tsp of masala spice)
  • Dijon Mustard (i used about 3 tsps – it adds a nice kick i find)
  • Milk – about 1 cup (adjust to desired consistency – less for thicker, more for thinner)
  • Panko bread crumbs (for the topping)
    • More butter (to mix with the breadcrumbs)

  • Directions –

    Cook and drain your pasta, return cooked pasta to pot.

    In a medium saucepan cook onions and butter on medium high heat until onions are slightly transparent. Add spices.

    Add flour to butter and onion mixture until all the butter is absorbed in to the flour. I like to toast it a bit. This might be the wrong thing to do – I don’t know. I’m not a chef!

    Add milk and bring to a boil, constantly stirring, and reduce to medium heat and stir until mixture thickens.

    Remove from heat (or turn heat off) and add all the cheese, stir and stir til it’s all nice and melty, and add mustard to taste.

    Mix the cheesy deliciousness in with the pasta, yum yum yum, and transfer to a casserole dish. (or 3, in my case)

    Microwave about 3-ish tablespoons of butter with about half a cup of panko crumbs for about 30 seconds and crumble on top. Top THAT with the rest of your cheese. However much you want! Whatever kind you want! IT’S CRAZY TIME! (I mixed asiago in with the cheddar too cause I had some in the fridge)

    Bake at 425 degrees for about 25 – 30 minutes, until all nice and bubbly and golden brown.

    Lose your mind. Eat. Cover and freeze and think about the lovely girlfriend who made this for you so late at night as you slowly eat it over the course of the next three weeks.

    Or, you know, whatever.

    See you soon, BC!! :)

    xoxoxooxoxox

    4 Comments

    Filed under Uncategorized

    4 responses to “Midnight Mac ‘n Cheese

    1. it was the most delicious midnight mac and cheese EVAR!

    2. Dad

      we will cook that when you are here…that and salmon thingys….oh and currys

    3. I’m guessing this dish smells like Teen Spirit!

    4. [from Youtube] …. Hmm Mac and Cheese. Our family is such a fan,we add corn, chicken, mushrooms, maybe tuna sometimes olives and dried tomatoes etc, very versatile dish. My boys two favourite side dishes are chips and Mac and Cheese.

    Leave a Reply

    