Daily Archives: July 7, 2010

Baked Salmon with Quinoa and Veggies

Hey folks!

Well, todays entry is decidedly healthier than my previous entry . In my opinion, however, it’s just as delicious!

The original recipe came from my good friend and fantastic writer/journalist, Lynn Welburn’s blog, The Salmon Diva, in which she blogs about many a delicious salmon recipe!

I looked at the recipe and thought to myself.. well.. I have some salmon in the freezer, and that looks friggin’ GOOD. And thus, I figured, get thee to the grocery store. (and the bulk barn – quinoa is way reasonable there!)

To her original recipe, I added a few things for fun. I threw some rosemary in with the salmon, and added onion and parsley and lots of delicious RADISHES!! I LOOOOOVE radishes. The parsley I used in place of cilantro because the last store I went to didn’t have any cilantro, and I didn’t feel like driving to another store.

I had never before tried or tasted quinoa, which is apparently FREAKISHLY good for you, and I am glad I did. It is delicious, and makes a great starch in place of rice, or pasta, or potatoes. It’s consistency reminds me a bit of couscous, but not as glutenous, and it has a nice nuttiness and an al dente quality – suffice to say, it was love at first bite.

For some reason, being born in BC makes me feel as though I have an understanding of and affinity for the cooking and eating of salmon. I’ve fished for salmon (hell, I’ve even come first place in a fishing derby when I was about 8 years old – it was 21 pounds, and besides the cash prize, I got a WICKED Trophy that was a giant beer can with a fish on top of it – seriously – I weirdly remember eating potato chips that day after – my memory is unreasonable at times)(that trophy has since mysteriously disappeared…) and I’ve eaten fresh salmon for my entire life, and love it in pretty much every way imaginable. Obviously, and sadly, there just isn’t as much salmon to be had anymore. Indeed, I have a weird guilt complex when ordering salmon in a restaurant. It feels pretty strange eating salmon caught by someone I don’t know and am not related to and that didn’t come from my front yard. I get over it though in times like these – this recipe is delicious.

If you aren’t a fish fan, you could always try this with stir fried chicken. Also, I imagine that if you are vegan or vegetarian, this would be VERY VERY tasty with some marinated tofu (squeeze out all the moisture, and then marinate it in lemon juice and salt for a few hours, or a sauce of your choosing!) , or with pine nuts – or even both!

Enjoy! Thanks Lynn!!!!! :)

____________

Baked Salmon with Quinoa and Veggies

Quinoa –

  • – 1/2 cup quinoa
  • – 1 cup of water
  • – salt to taste

Salmon –

  • 1 6oz piece salmon (or more or less depending)
  • 2 nice slices of lemon
  • 1 sprig rosemary
  • 1 tsp parsley
  • tiny bit of sea salt

Veggies –

  • 1 good handful spinach
  • 4 or 5 radishes, sliced
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 knob of ginger, minced/grated
  • 1 small onion
  • 1 nice bunch of parsley
  • 1 lemon (use what’s left after slicing for the salmon)

Directions –

Prepare salmon. Preheat oven to around 400 degrees. Oil (preferably olive, for my taste) or spray pam your pan, lay down sprig of rosemary. On top of the rosemary, place your salmon so it’s all nice and cozy. Sprinkle with salt and parsley, and lay 2 lemon slices on top. Bake for about 15 minutes, or until nice and flaky and cooked through just right and not too dry.

Prepare Quinoa. Put water and quinoa and salt to taste in a pot with a lid, covered, and boil. When it boils, reduce heat. It took about 10 – 15 minutes for mine to cook all the way through. This may differ considering on the temperature where you are, or your cooktop. (or I find that, anyways, I may be making that up)

Prepare Veggies. Slice radishes and parsley and lemon and keep to the side. Heat pan to medium high, and slowly cook onions, garlic and ginger. When that’s all nice and hot, put in your spinach until it’s just wilted. At this time, I squeezed a little bit of delicious lemon juice on there to add a bit of liquid to the story. Yumz.

Mix together. Once your salmon is done, and your quinoa, turn off the heat on the pan, and mix it all together, squeezing on more lemon juice. While the pan is still hot, add in parsley and radishes.

Season with salt and lemon juice to taste.

NOM NOM NOM

Enjoy :o)

Take care,

Alley :)

xoxoxoxoxoxox

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized