Beaumont Hamel, Canada Day, Rosemary Bread and Toutons

Happy Canada Day Everybody!

First, a little eye candy.

 

Cedar Cove

Cedar Cove, NLThis is Cedar Cove in Newfoundland.

 

Westwood Lake, Nanaimo, BC

This is Cedar Cove in Newfoundland.

The next one is of Westwood Lake in my hometown of Nanaimo BC.

I actually get to LIVE in these places!!!

It’s July 1st – and to everyone in Canada I say, once again, HAPPY CANADA DAY! Be careful when you’re celebrating plz. It always gets a little crazy on Canada Day! It may not be a very  red or white recipe, but I didn’t want to make something I know that I wouldn’t eat (like 12 cupcakes – actually i know i WOULD eat them all haha)(also, I didn’t plan ahead, and the grocery stores are closed!) I’ve travelled to a lot of amazing places in this world, and I always feel so happy when I return home, after seeing all the wonders the world has to offer (and there are a LOT), to such a beautiful, beautiful place – whether it’s to BC or Newfoundland (my two homes). So, again, HAPPY CANADA DAY! :)

Anywho, what I CAN get today, though, is flour, and what I DO have is a lot of delicious rosemary, so that leads me to believe that making some delicious rosemary bread is in order! I love making bread – in some way it makes me feel connected to the past and a time when you couldn’t just go buy already sliced bread (which I love, too!). Also the smell of fresh bread baking in the oven is second to none.

Speaking of bread, let me also share with you a link to a recipe for a traditional Newfoundland food, that is SO DELICIOUS, but as I stated earlier I am on a diet and my diety ways won’t let me enjoy a whole batch of these – Toutons. The Newfoundland soldiers of 1916 would have eaten these and felt a little piece of home wherever they were. Try them – they’re amazing – and when you do, make sure you try them with Molasses ;) I’ve made them before and MAN, are they good. Basically they are delicious fried bread. Can’t go wrong. (I’ll even link to the crazy pork toutons recipe!) *Click here for the Toutons Recipe *

 

More Cedar Cove

Cedar Cove, NL

Something that I have only recently learned about July 1st, since I’ve been living in Newfoundland, is that it’s a day of Remembrance in Newfoundland for all the soldiers who fell at Beaumont Hammel on July 1st, 1916 (WW1). These men were put on the front lines, and they were a HUGE percentage of Newfoundland’s young men at the time, and about 90 percent of them were lost in one day at the Battle of the Somme. Here’s a little history on wikipedia about the battle at Beaumont Hamel, and where the memorial stands today: Click Here

Please take a look at that site for a little bit of history, and to think of the Newfoundland Regiment of 1916 for a moment today. Thank you!

Now, on to the bread!

____________

Rosemary Bread  –

From Whole Family Fare (in a POT!)(actually in my case, a cast iron skillet!) :o)

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups unbleached flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon active dry yeast
  • 1 3/4 teaspoons sea salt
  • 1 1/2 cups water (I used warm to get the yeast to LIIIVE!)
  • 1 tablespoon fresh rosemary leaves

Method (man?)

Mix everything together in a bowl,(this time, I used the warm water and mixed the yeast in with it and let it do it’s weird freaky coming alive sea monkey show before stirring it altogether)
until it looks like this. Got it? —->
Next, cover with plastic wrap or a tea towel, and let it sit in a warm place. (the first time i did this the place it was sitting in was too cool, so it didn’t rise as much as i would have liked!)
For 18 hours.
See you tomorrow.
I’ll have pictures of the last steps tomorrow, but for now, I have dough in a bowl.
……
Back? Okay, now, preheat your skillet or dutch oven in a 450 degree oven for 30 minutes. Flop your dough in to the dutch oven or skillet (i only have a skillet!), cover (if you have the dutch oven) and bake at 450 for another 30 minutes. Remove the lid, and cook for another 15 or so minutes to make it all nice and golden brown. (it actually took me only an additional 5 – 10 minutes).
– adapted from williams-sonoma

___________

Take care everybody, and be safe on this Canada Day

Cheers,

Alley :)

xoxoxoxoxoxox

ps. I spent my Canada day with my wiener dog, went for a walk, and this happened: Whilst walking on the nature trail, I spot some random dudes doing random things.It went like this. guy to friend “OUCH that’s hot”(referring to pipe line) gross friend to guy looking at me, “that IS hot” ..ugh.. 3 steps later, wiener dog to both guys “poop”, and I being the responsible pup owner that i am, picked it up! How’s THAT for hot, friggers? Thank you and good day sirs. Oh yes, and me to wiener dog: Good boy.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Beaumont Hamel, Canada Day, Rosemary Bread and Toutons

  1. Sara

    Happy Canada Day to you too, Allison! I spent my Canada Day in Trafalgar Square, London, with a whole bunch of Canadians and Brits celebrating the day.

    I spent my year abroad in British Columbia – Victoria, to be exact – and it truly is one of the most beautiful places in the world (to me, the most beautiful, but then I haven’t seen everywhere!) I do miss it so! And I do miss Canada too, so much, so happy Canada Day to you once again, I hope it was a good one!

    • Thank you so much Sara :) Yuppers, BC is CRAZY beautiful. So much ocean, so many mountains, such huge trees! I hope you all had a great time!

      Take care,
      Allison :)

  2. wow!
    it looks better even than the last batch!

    • thanks hon! it’ll be a little gone by the time you get home but i am sure i can do something with the rest of it – yummy croutons for homemade caesar? i think SO!

  3. I sense there’s a “ringer” in this crowd ( :

Leave a Reply

